Professors

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Nikolaus A. Adams

Aerodynamics and Fluid Mechanics

Professor's Profile

nikolaus.adams@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16138
Building Section 6 

  • Numerical modeling and simulation of complex flows
  • Low-speed aerodynamics
  • Multiphase flows, microfluidics
  • Gasdynamics, cavitating flows
  • Aircraft, spacecraft and automotive aerodynamics

Prof. Dr. phil. Klaus Bengler

Ergonomics

Professor's profile

bengler@lfe.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15366
Building Section 4

  • Micro ergonomics
  • Human-machine interaction
  • Digital human modeling
  • Cooperative systems and automation

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Sonja Berensmeier

Bioseparation Engineering

Professor's Profile

s.berensmeier@lrz.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15750
Building Section 4 

  • Selective separation of biomolecules
  • Downstream processing
  • Magnetic separation

Prof. Dr. Carlo L. Bottasso

Wind Energy

Professor's Profile

carlo.bottasso@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16681
Building Section 7 

  • Wind energy system design, modeling and control
  • Computational mechanics and simulation technology
  • Numerical and experimental aeroelasticity

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Drechsler

Carbon Composites

Professor's Profile

drechsler@lcc.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15092
Building Section 4

  • Composite materials and process technology
  • Textile technology
  • Lightweigth design

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johannes Fottner

Logistics Engineering

Professor's Profile

fottner@fml.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15921
Building Section 5

  • Innovative conveyor technology
  • Sustainable logistics systems
  • Planning and control of material flow systems
  • Industry 4.0
  • Humans in logistics
  • Crane engineering and design of load-supporting structures

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael W. Gee

Mechanics and High Performance Computing

Professor's Profile

gee@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15239
Building Section 2

  • High performance parallel computing
  • Fluid-structure interaction
  • Cardiovascular biomechanics

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Christian Große

Non-Destructive Testing

Professor's Profile

grosse@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 27221

  • Quality control during construction
  • Inspection of structures and components in civil and mechanical engineering
  • Structural health monitoring

Joint Appointment with the TUM Department of Civil, Geo and Environmental Engineering

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Gümmer

Turbomachinery and Flight Propulsion

Professor's Profile

volker.guemmer@ltf.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16164
Building Section 6

  • Aerodynamics of Turbomachinery
  • Propulsor Technology
  • Design Concepts for Gasturbine Components
  • Gasturbine Systems and Cycles

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Willibald A. Günthner

Materials Handling, Material Flow, Logistics

Professor's Profile

guenthner@fml.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15921
Building Section 5

  • Innovative conveyor technology
  • Sustainable logistics systems
  • Planning and control of material flow systems
  • Industry 4.0
  • Humans in logistics
  • Crane engineering and design of load-supporting structures

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Oskar J. Haidn

Space Propulsion

Professor's Profile

haidn@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16138
Building Section 6 

  • Thrust chamber technologies
  • High pressure combustion
  • In-space propulsion
  • Green propellants
  • Combustion dynamics
  • Turbopump technologies

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Hajek

Helicopter Technology

Professor's Profile

hajek@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16353
Building Section 7

  • Aeromechanical modeling and test of rotors
  • Modeling and simulation of rotorcraft flight
  • Multi-rotor configurations

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Florian Holzapfel

Flight System Dynamics

Professor's Profile

florian.holzapfel@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16061
Building Section 5

  • Modeling, simulation and parameter estimation
  • Flight guidance and flight control
  • Sensors, data fusion and navigation
  • Trajectory optimization

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Mirko Hornung

Aircraft Design

zum Professorenprofil

mirko.hornung@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15981
Building Section 6

  • Scenario analysis, future trends and technologies
  • Aircraft design (civil and military)
  • Analysis and evaluation of aircraft concepts

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Mirko Hornung (interim, formerly Prof. i. R. Dr.-Ing. Horst Baier)

Lightweight Structures

+49 (0)89 289 - 16103
Building Section 6

  • Smart and adaptive structures
  • Large membrane and deployable space structures
  • Fibre composite and hybrid materials structures
  • Structural and multidisciplinary design optimization techniques

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hans-Jakob Kaltenbach

Flow Control and Aeroacoustics

Professor's Profile

Hans-Jakob.Kaltenbach@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16397
Building Section 6

  • Active and passive flow control
  • Prediction and mitigation of flow noise
  • Aircraft, automotive and railway aerodynamics

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Harald Klein

Plant and Process Technology

Professor's Profile

harald.klein@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16501
Building Section 4

  • Process design
  • Equipment design methods
  • Modelling and thermodynamic property data

Prof. Phaedon-Stelios Koutsourelakis, Ph.D.

Continuum Mechanics

Professor's Profile

p.s.koutsourelakis@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16690
Building Section 1

  • Uncertainty quantification in computational science and engineering
  • Bayesian formulations for inverse problems
  • Atomistic simulation of materials

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Andreas Kremling

Systems Biotechnology

Professor's Profile

a.kremling@lrz.tu-muenchen.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15761
Building Section 4

  • Mathematical modelling of cellular systems
  • Model analysis and parameter identification
  • Model-based experimental design

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Oliver Lieleg

Biomechanics

Professor's Profile

oliver.lieleg@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 10952 

  • Mechanics of biomaterials
  • Biological hydrogels
  • Biomedical / biophysical engineering

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Markus Lienkamp

Automotive Technology

Professor's Profile

lienkamp@ftm.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15345
Building Section 5

  • Vehicle concepts
  • Electro mobility
  • Vehicle control and dynamics
  • Driver assistance systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Boris Lohmann

Automatic Control

Professor's Profile

lohmann@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15610
Building Section 2 

  • Methods and application of nonlinear and predictive control
  • Modeling, reduction and control of distributed parameter systems
  • Automotive, multicopter and robot control application

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Tim C. Lüth

Micro Technology and Medical Device Technology

Professor's Profile

tim.lueth@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15190
Building Section 1

  • Medical navigation, robotics, and control architectures
  • Rapid prototyping
  • Technology for an aging society

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Tim C. Lüth (interim, formerly Prof. Dr. med. Dr.-Ing. habil. Erich Wintermantel)

Medical and Polymer Engineering

+49 (0)89 289 - 16701
Building Section 4

  • Hemocompatible and -active surfaces and systems
  • Functionalized polymeric implants
  • Improved polymers, process tooling and analysis tools

Prof. Rafael Macian-Juan, Ph.D.

Nuclear Engineering

Professor's Profile

macian@ntech.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15621
Building Section 4 

  • Nuclear reactor safety
  • Thermal-hydraulic and neutronic analysis of nuclear systems
  • Radiation transport

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Steffen Marburg

Vibroacoustics of Vehicles and Machines

Professor's Profile

steffen.marburg@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 55120
Building Section 5

  • Experimental and computational acoustics
  • Vibroacoustic optimization
  • Uncertainty quantification of vibroacoustic systems
  • Material data identification

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Neu

Plasma Material Interaction

Professor's Profile

Rudolf.Neu@ipp.mpg.de
+49 (0)89 3299 - 1899

  • Erosion and hydrogen retention in plasma facing materials
  • Tungsten alloys and composite structures for heat removal
  • Heatflow tests for and development of plasma facing materials

Prof. Wolfgang Polifke, Ph.D.

Thermo-Fluid Dynamics

Professor's Profile

polifke@tfd.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16216 / - 16217
Building Section 7 

  • Aero- and thermoacoustics
  • Mixing and reaction in turbulent flows
  • Two-phase flows

Prof. Dr. Julien Provost

Safe Embedded Systems

Professor's Profile

julien.provost@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16424

  • Fault-tolerant systems
  • Formal verification and validation
  • Distributed control systems
  • Diagnosis of automated systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gunther Reinhart

Industrial Management and Assembly Technologies

Professor's Profile

gunther.reinhart@iwb.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15500
Building Section 3

  • Production management and logistics
  • Automation and robotics
  • Assembly technology

Prof. Dr. Ir. Daniel Rixen

Applied Mechanics

Professor's Profile

rixen@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15220
Building Section 1

  • Numerical methods for technical dynamics
  • Experimental structure dynamics
  • Multiphysicals models

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Sattelmayer

Thermodynamics

Professor's Profile

sattelmayer@td.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16219
Building Section 7

  • Combustion and reactive flows, noise and instabilities
  • Transport phenomena in single and two-phase flows
  • Energy systems and technologies

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Veit Senner

Sport Equipment and Materials

Professor's Profile

senner@lfe.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15366
Building Section 3 

  • New materials (esp. carbon composites) in sports
  • Improved interaction between athletes and sports equipment
  • Equipment for reduced injury risk in sports

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hartmut Spliethoff

Energy Systems

Professor's Profile

spliethoff@tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16270
Building Section 7

  • Systems studies
  • Combustion and gasification of solid fuels
  • Steam cycles

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Stahl

Machine Elements

Professor's Profile

stahl@fzg.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15807
Building Section 5

  • Gears and transmission components
  • Fatigue life, efficiency, NVH-behavior
  • Testing, methods, simulation
  • Analysis, computer applications

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Birgit Vogel-Heuser

Automation and Information Systems

Professor's Profile

vogel-heuser@ais.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16400
Building Section 1

  • Model-based and integrated engineering
  • Distributed control systems
  • Quality management and human factors

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram Volk

Metal Forming and Casting

Professor's Profile

wolfram.volk@utg.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 13790 

  • Manufacturing, tooling, and measurement technology
  • Development, heat treatment and processing of new materials
  • Virtual manufacturing processes

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfram Volk (interim, formerly Prof. i. R. Dr.-Ing. Udo Lindemann)

Product Development

+49 (0)89 289 - 15131
Building Section 1

  • Systems engineering and systems behavior
  • Innovation processes and creativity enhancing methods
  • Individualized products

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Georg Wachtmeister

Internal Combustion Engines

Professor's Profile

wachtmeister@lvk.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 24101
Building Section 2 

  • Gas and diesel engines
  • Injection processes
  • Exhaust gas aftertreatment

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang A. Wall

Computational Mechanics

Professor's Profile

wall@lnm.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15300
Building Section 2

  • Multifield problems
  • Multiscale problems
  • Computational biomechanics and biophysics

Prof. Prof. h. c. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h. c. Ulrich Walter

Astronautics

Professor's Profile

u.walter@lrt.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 16003
Building Section 6 

  • Spacecraft and satellite technologies
  • Systems engineering
  • Human exploration technologies
  • Hypervelocity laboratory

Prof. Dr. mont. habil. Dr. rer. nat. h. c. Ewald Werner

Materials Science and Mechanics of Materials

Professor's Profile

werner@wkm.mw.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15247
Building Section 2 

  • Materials science of metals and mechanics of materials
  • Phase transformations
  • Alloy and process development

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dirk Weuster-Botz

Biochemical Engineering

Professor's Profile

d.weuster-botz@lrz.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15712
Building Section 4

  • Microbial bioprocess engineering and industrial biotechnology
  • Biocatalysis and fermentation
  • Bioprocess integration

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Michael F. Zaeh

Machine Tools and Manufacturing Technology

Professor's Profile

zaeh@iwb.tum.de
+49 (0)89 289 - 15500
Building Section 3 

  • Machine tools
  • Manufacturing processes
  • Joining and cutting technologies