ECMR – Experience Center Mobile Robotics

Experience Center Mobile Robotics - what for?

Today, mobile robots already play an important role in logistical processes in virtually any industry. Due to ever increasing demands for automation and autonomy, this role will be increasingly central in the future. Therefore, the Chair of Materials Handling Material Flow Logistics (fml) has set up the "Experience Center Mobile Robotics" (ECMR) offering industry, researchers and students an insight into the broad academic perspective on mobile robotics in intralogistics.

 

Content

The ECMR provides a holistic view of mobile robotics in intralogistics introducing interested parties to the subject. For this purpose, individual demonstrators of different levels - "component", "system" and "process" - are combined and continuously integrated in order to create a holistic "system of systems" that can autonomously handle increasingly complex logistics tasks.

 

At component level, the current ECMR inventory includes, for example, an Artificial Intelligence (AI)-based system for detecting objects in logistics (tugger trains, workers) and for warning in the event of a risk of collision. At system level, the ECMR has vehicles of various sizes and applications at its disposal: from freely programmable learning robots for teaching and training (Festo Robotino, Lego Mindstorms), to industry-proven transport and order-picking systems (BMW Smart Transport Robot, Magazino Toru), to a self-developed autonomous tugger train. At process level, these systems are used to depict autonomous transport processes and robot-assisted picking. The portfolio of ECMR on all three levels is continuously expanded based on current research and continuously integrated into the system of systems. In this way, ECMR offers its visitors a holistic view of the manifold possibilities of mobile robotics in intralogistics.

Contact

Charlotte Haid, M.Sc.

Please send e-mails to ecmr@fml.mw.tum.de

ECMR – Experience Center Mobile Robotics

Warum ein Experience Center Mobile Robotics?

Mobile Roboter spielen bereits heute eine wichtige Rolle in logistischen Prozessen fast aller Industrien. Durch immer weiter steigende Anforderungen an Automatisierung und Autonomisierung wird diese Rolle in der Zukunft immer zentraler werden. Entsprechend hat sich der Lehrstuhl für Fördertechnik Materialfluss Logistik (fml) im Rahmen des "Experience Center Mobile Robotics“ (ECMR) entschieden Anwendern, Forschern sowie Studierenden einen Einblick in die Breite der universitären Sicht auf mobile Robotik in der Intralogistik zu geben.

Inhalte des Experience Center Mobile Robotics

Das ECMR bildet eine gesamtheitliche Sicht auf die Mobile Robotik in der Intralogistik ab, um die Thematik interessierten Parteien näher zu bringen. Hierfür werden einzelne Demonstratoren der Ebenen „Komponente“, „System“ und „Prozess“ zusammengefasst und fortlaufend integriert, um ein gesamtheitliches „System of Systems“ zu gestalten, welches autonom immer komplexere Aufgaben der Logistik bewältigen kann.

 

Der aktuelle Bestand des ECMR umfasst auf Komponentenebene beispielsweise ein auf Künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) basierendes Systeme zur Erkennung von Objekten in der Logistik (Routenzüge, Lagermitarbeiter) sowie zur Warnung bei Kollisionsgefahr. Auf Systemebene stehen dem ECMR Fahrzeuge unterschiedlichster Größenordnung und Anwendungsbereiche zur Verfügung: von frei programmierbaren Lernrobotern für Lehre und Schulungen (Festo Robotino, Lego Mindstorms), über industrieerprobte Transport- und Kommissioniersysteme (BMW Smart Transport Robot, Magazino Toru) bis hin zu einem selbstentwickelten autonomen Routenzug. Auf der Prozessebene werden mit diesen Systemen autonome Transportprozesse sowie roboterunterstütze Kommissionierung abgebildet. Dabei wird das Portfolio des ECMR auf allen drei Ebenen basierend auf der Forschung am Lehrstuhl fortlaufend erweitert und kontinuierlich in das Gesamtsystem integriert. Somit ermöglicht das ECMR seinen Besuchern einen holistischen Blick auf vielfältige Möglichkeiten der Robotik in der Intralogistik.